Added value for patients, hospitals and the health system.

Telemonitoring boosts the quality of therapy while at the same time enhancing patients’ quality of life and reducing costs in the health system.

Enhance
patient comfort

Improve
data quality

Reduce
costs

Added value for patients

Telemonitoring assists patients with home diagnostics by making it easier for them to record and transmit their vital signs, at regular intervals and without leaving gaps in their records. This is because the values measured with the telemedicine equipment (e.g. blood sugar, blood pressure, weight) are transferred automatically and stored on a telemonitoring platform. For the patient, therefore, measuring and sending the data is extremely simple and convenient.

Telemonitoring reduces the patient’s need for doctor’s visits and stays in hospital. During a course of therapy, telemonitoring can help to avoid complications and secondary diseases. A further advantage of telemonitoring for the patient is that there is no longer any need for handwritten documentation of measured data. Patients have a better overview of the progression of their disease or of the healing process.

Telemonitoring improves interaction between the patient and the doctor in charge of treatment. Above all it makes it easier to notify the doctor of important additional information such as changes to well-being or to medication, the occurrence of symptoms etc.

Telemonitoring has a motivating effect on patients. The awareness that the data will be evaluated and will be seen by the doctor increases a patient’s willingness to participate actively in the treatment.

Added value for hospitals and doctors

For doctors, telemonitoring is an excellent means of managing patient data precisely and cost-effectively. Simplified data management (in light of the obligatory documentation requirement) and the associated savings in time and costs offer significant added value for hospitals. As the data are stored electronically and fully automatically, errors in data acquisition can be avoided.

Furthermore, telemonitoring opens up new avenues in treatment opportunities. Doctors are given the chance to observe how their patients lead their lives and, with that, to monitor their state of health. They also have the possibility of intervening to correct a treatment or training plan without delay. In many cases doctors see their patients at only irregular intervals, but often it is vital to have precise sequences of measurements in order to classify symptoms accordingly.

Telemonitoring allows the patient to be closely monitored without constantly having to come into the practice. Telemonitoring can motivate patients to take measurements which they would otherwise not do, or to comply with their doctor’s instructions. Data quality and transparency of measured values are both improved with telemonitoring. For treatment to be successful, it is crucial that the patient data is complete and accurate. In practice, however, it is often the case that patients are unable to present a complete set of documentation with no gaps, and sometimes mistakes are made in measurement or figures are made to look better than they really are. Telemonitoring rules this out.

Added value for the health system

The use of telemedicine platforms has a positive impact on health care. It improves patient treatment by making therapy more precise, thus reducing costs in the health system.

Faster and more precise therapy management ⇒ avoidance of consequential harm ⇒ cost savings

The measurement of all kinds of vital data via telemonitoring allows medication to be dosed more precisely, and the unnecessary administration of drugs can be avoided. Telemonitoring also helps patients to adhere to their medication regimen, which also plays a part in saving costs in the health system. Monitoring significantly reduces the number of regular visits to the doctor. This means a better quality of life for the patient while simultaneously relieving the burden on health finance.

Faster and more precise management of treatment prevents secondary harm and saves costs. Telemedicine can help to reduce hospital visits and prevent costly medical interventions.

A large proportion of the expenditure in any health system goes on treating patients with chronic diseases. If people are suffering from a chronic condition, continuous monitoring of their state of health enables negative trends to be detected at an early stage, so preventive action can be taken immediately. This significantly improves the health and quality of life of the chronically sick. The benefits include fewer days of illness and less time off work.

Mehrwert für Patienten, Kliniken und das Gesundheitssystem.

Telemonitoring steigert die Therapiequalität, erhöht die Lebensqualität von Patienten und senkt Kosten im Gesundheitssystem.

Patientenkomfort
steigern

Datenqualität
verbessern

Kosten
senken

Mehrwert für Patienten

Telemonitoring unterstützt Patienten bei der Heimdiagnostik, indem es sie dabei unterstützt ihre Vitalwerte regelmäßig und lückenlos zu dokumentieren und zu übertragen. Denn die mit den telemedizinischen Geräten gemessenen Werte (z.B. Blutzucker, Blutdruck, Gewicht) werden automatisch übertragen und auf einer Telemonitoring-Plattform festgehalten. Dadurch gestaltet sich das Messen und Übertragen der Daten sehr einfach und komfortabel für den Patienten.

Telemonitoring reduziert Arztbesuche und Krankenhausaufenthalte für den Patienten. Während einer Therapie kann Telemonitoring helfen Komplikationen und Folgeerkrankungen zu vermeiden. Ein weiterer Vorteil des Telemonitorings für den Patienten ist, dass keine handschriftliche Dokumentation von Messdaten mehr nötig ist. Der Patient hat somit einen besseren Überblick über seinen eigenen Krankheitsverlauf bzw. Heilungsprozess.

Telemonitoring verbessert die Interaktion zwischen Patient und behandelndem Arzt. Vor allem vereinfacht es die Kommunikation von wichtigen Zusatzinformationen wie etwa Änderungen des Wohlbefindens oder der Medikation, Auftreten von Beschwerden etc.

Telemonitoring wirkt motivierend auf den Patienten. Das Bewusstsein, dass die Messdaten ausgewertet und vom Arzt beobachtet werden, erhöht die Bereitschaft aktiv an der Therapie mitzuarbeiten.

Mehrwert für Kliniken und Ärzte

Für Ärzte ist das Telemonitoring eine gute Möglichkeit Patientendaten genau und kostengünstig zu verwalten. Eine vereinfachte Datenverwaltung (Dokumentationspflicht) und damit einhergehende Zeit- und Kostenersparnisse bieten einen deutlichen Mehrwert für Kliniken. Da die Daten elektronisch und vollautomatisch dokumentiert werden, können Fehler bei der Datenerfassung umgangen werden.

Außerdem eröffnet Telemonitoring neue Therapiemöglichkeiten. Ärzte bekommen die Möglichkeit die Lebensführung ihrer Patienten und damit einhergehend den Gesundheitszustand zu beobachten. Ebenso besteht die Möglichkeit unverzüglich auf den Therapie- oder Trainingsplan korrigierend einzuwirken. Denn Ärzte sehen ihre Patienten häufig nur in unregelmäßigen Abständen. Oftmals sind jedoch genaue Messverläufe notwendig, um Beschwerden einordnen zu können.

Telemonitoring ermöglicht ein engmaschiges Monitoring, ohne den Patient ständig in die Praxis bestellen zu müssen. Es kann Patienten dazu motivieren, sich überhaupt zu messen oder sich an ärztliche Anweisungen zu halten. Telemonitoring sorgt für eine bessere Datenqualität und Transparenz der Messwerte. Für eine erfolgreiche Therapie sind vollständige und exakte Daten des Patienten unabdingbar. In der Praxis sieht es jedoch oft so aus, dass Patienten keine vollständige, lückenlose Dokumentation vorlegen können, Messfehler auftreten oder Messwerte beschönigt werden. Telemonitoring schließt dies aus.

Mehrwert für das Gesundheitssystem

Der Einsatz von Telemedizin-Plattformen wirkt sich positiv auf das Gesundheitswesen aus. Es verbessert die Behandlung von Patienten durch eine genauere Therapie und verringert so die Kosten im Gesundheitssystem.

Schnellere und exaktere Therapiesteuerung ⇒ Vermeidung von Folgeschäden ⇒ Kostenersparnis

Durch die Messung von Vitaldaten aller Art via Telemonitoring lassen sich Medikamente exakter dosieren. Unnötige Medikamentenabgaben werden vermieden. Außerdem unterstützt es den Patienten, die Medikamenteneinnahme einzuhalten. Dies trägt zu Kosteneinsparungen im Gesundheitssystem bei. Durch das Monitoring wird die Zahl an regelmäßigen Arztbesuchen deutlich gesenkt. Dies bedeutet für den Patienten ein Mehrwert an Lebensqualität und entlastet zudem die Krankenkassen.

Eine schnellere und exaktere Therapiesteuerung verhindert Folgeschäden und spart Kosten. Mit der Telemedizin lassen sich Klinikaufenthalte vermeiden und teure medizinische Eingriffe umgehen.

Die Behandlung von Patienten mit chronischen Krankheiten verursacht einen großen Teil der Ausgaben im Gesundheitssystem. Bei Menschen mit einer chronischen Erkrankung lassen sich durch die kontinuierliche Überwachung des Gesundheitszustandes negative Wertentwicklungen frühzeitig erkennen und durch präventive Maßnahmen sofort behandeln. Dies steigert wesentlich den Gesundheitszustand und die Lebensqualität von chronisch Kranken. Die Folge sind z.B. weniger Krankheitstage und geringere Fehlzeiten am Arbeitsplatz.